Study objectives

This case study aims at optimizing the sizing and the operation of a hydrogen production for the supply of hydrogen to a vehicles fleet using both electricity produced from photovoltaic (PV) and electricity from the grid. The objective is here to minimize the hydrogen supply cost to the vehicles.

System architecture

The figure opposite illustrates the architecture of the system modeled with the software Odyssey. This system consists in the following components:

  1. The hydrogen load (supply station)
  2. The photovoltaic power plant
  3. The connection to the main electrical grid
  4. The electrolyzer
  5. The hydrogen compressor
  6. The auxiliary allowing to account for the electricity consumed by the electrolyzer
  7. The hydrogen tank
Exemple d'architecture

The operation principle consists in powering the electrolyzer, the compressor and the auxiliaries from a mix of electricity produced from the photovoltaic power plant and from the electrical grid.
The energy management strategy consists in permanently adjusting the operating point of the electrolyzer (maximum power, partial power, stand-by) in order to benefit from cheap electricity from the grid while guarantying a sufficient production of hydrogen for the vehicles.

Results examples (time series and sensitivity analysis)

The objective in this study is to minimize the hydrogen supply cost to the vehicle. This indicator is computed from all expenses required for the construction and operation of the hydrogen distribution station (investment and replacement of the different components, operation and maintenance costs and purchase of electricity on the grid).
In order to minimize this cost, it is essential to optimize both the sizing of the different components (PV power plant, electrolyzer, hydrogen storage, etc.) and the energy management strategy to guaranty a purchase of electricity at the lowest possible cost.
The figure below is an example of dynamic simulation result of the installation operation on a 24h period. We can observe that the electrical network (red) is solicited in order to complete the photovoltaic production (blue) and thus guarantying a constant power supply to the electrolyzer (green) on this period.

Simulation

The figure below is an example of sensitivity analysis performed with the software Odyssey and showing the impact of the PV power plant sizing on the hydrogen supply cost. We can observe how an optimal PV power plant sizing can reduce the hydrogen supply cost in comparison to a solution with photovoltaic or in comparison to a solution with an improper photovoltaic power plant sizing.

Sensitivity

Results examples (costs structure and cash flow)

As part of this study, economic calculations are carried out over a 20-year operating period with a discount rate of 8%. The figures opposite illustrate examples of economic results from ODYSSEY.
The figure below is an example of the result of the overall cost structure of the project (costs of electricity, investment, operation & maintenance and replacement of components -taking into account ageing-).

Cost Structure

The figure below is an example of a cash flow view of expenses over the operating period.

Expensives
A question, a need?

We are at your disposal!

Objectif de l'étude

Cette étude de cas vise à optimiser le dimensionnement et le fonctionnement d'une installation permettant l'alimentation d’une flotte de véhicules à partir d’hydrogène produit par électrolyse. L'objectif est ici de minimiser le coût de fourniture de l'hydrogène au véhicule.

Architecture du système

La figure ci-contre illustre l'architecture du système modélisé à l'aide du logiciel ODYSSEY. Ce système est constitué des composants suivants :

  1. La station de distribution d'hydrogène
  2. La centrale photovoltaïque
  3. La connexion au réseau électrique principal
  4. L'électrolyseur
  5. Le compresseur d'hydrogène
  6. L’auxiliaire permettant de comptabiliser la consommation électrique du compresseur
  7. Le réservoir d'hydrogène
Exemple d'architecture

Le principe de fonctionnement consiste à alimenter le système électrolyseur, le compresseur et son auxiliaire à partir d'un mix entre une production photovoltaïque et un soutirage sur le réseau électrique.
La stratégie de gestion de l'énergie consiste à ajuster en permanence le point de fonctionnement de l'électrolyseur (puissance maximale, puissance partielle, stand-by) pour bénéficier d'une électricité la moins chère possible tout en garantissant une production d'hydrogène suffisante pour alimenter la flotte de véhicules à hydrogène.

Exemples de résultats (séries temporelles et analyse de sensibilité)

L'objectif poursuivi dans cette étude est de minimiser le coût de fourniture de l’hydrogène au véhicule. Cet indicateur est calculé à partir de l'ensemble des dépenses permettant la mise en service et l'opération de la station de distribution d'hydrogène (investissement et remplacement des différents équipements, coûts d'opération et de maintenance, achat d'électricité sur le réseau).
Afin de minimiser ce coût, il est essentiel d'optimiser à la fois le dimensionnent des différents composants (centrale PV, électrolyseur, stockage hydrogène, etc.) et la stratégie de gestion de l'énergie pour garantir un approvisionnement en électricité à moindre coût.
La figure ci-dessous est un exemple de résultat de simulation dynamique du fonctionnement de l'installation sur une période de 24h. On peut observer que le réseau électrique (rouge) est sollicité de manière à compléter la production photovoltaïque (bleu) et ainsi garantir une alimentation de l'électrolyseur (vert) à pleine puissance sur cette période.

Simulation

La figure ci-dessous est un exemple d'étude de sensibilité réalisée à l'aide du logiciel ODYSSEY et illustrant l'impact de la variation des coûts des principaux composants ainsi que la variation du prix de vente de l'hydrogène sur la Valeur Actuelle Nette (VAN) du projet.

Sensitivity

Exemples de résultats (structure de coûts et dépenses)

Dans le cadre de cette étude, les calculs économiques sont réalisés sur un durée d'exploitation de 20 ans avec un taux d'actualisation de 8%. Les figures ci-contre illustrent des exemples de résultats économiques issus de l'outil ODYSSEY.
La figure ci-dessous est un exemple de résultat de structure de coûts global du projet (coûts de l'électricité, de l'investissement, de l'exploitation & maintenance et du remplacement des composants -prise en compte du vieillissement-).

Cost Structure

La figure ci-dessous est un exemple de visualisation "cash flow" des dépenses sur la période d'exploitation.

Expensives
Une question, un besoin ?

Nous sommes à votre écoute !